Compare software

IDA Free vs Ghidra: catalog facts
IDA FreeGhidra

Screenshots

Ghidra CodeBrowser with disassembly, decompiled source and symbol treeGhidra CodeBrowser showing hexadecimal bytes alongside decompiled sourceGhidra project manager with Tool Chest, active project and Tip of the Day dialogGhidra Debugger workspace with termmines static disassembly and empty runtime panelsGhidra Launch with gdb dialog for termmines with architecture and run command controlsGhidra Debugger after launching termmines with threads, dynamic disassembly and GDB terminal

Best for: Students and hobbyists learning reverse engineering on x86 binaries

Best for: Reverse engineering a binary when you need a decompiler and cannot pay for IDA

Free

Free for non-commercial use; paid IDA Home and IDA Pro editions add more features and commercial rights.

Free

Free and open source under Apache 2.0, released by the NSA.

Windows, macOS, Linux Windows, macOS, Linux
  • Same core disassembler as the commercial IDA
  • Includes a decompiler for x86 and x86-64
  • Runs on Windows, macOS and Linux
  • A genuinely capable decompiler producing C-like output, free and open source
  • Very wide processor instruction set and executable format support
  • Built for teams, with shared projects and version tracking
  • Extensible with Java or Python, and scriptable for automated analysis
  • Not licensed for commercial use
  • Only x86 and x86-64 are supported
  • Decompilation runs in the cloud and needs a connection
  • The project warns that some versions have known security vulnerabilities
  • Java-based, and the interface shows it
  • A steep learning curve even for people who know assembly
  • Distributed as a portable archive rather than an installer, and needs a JDK
Downloadable app Downloadable app
Not open source Open source
License: Proprietary License: Apache-2.0
Not stated if an account is needed No account needed
Needs internet Offline features available

Sources for IDA Free

Catalog checked September 23, 2026

Sources for Ghidra

Catalog checked September 21, 2026

“Not stated” means we have not confirmed it. Features can vary by device and plan.